Profile picture for user fainsl
Sophie F. Friend

Design to Improve the LVAD Experience

Hi everyone!

My name is Sophie and I am an industrial design student at the University of Cincinnati. I have recently been made aware from a close friend how difficult it is to live a healthy active lifestyle with a LVAD, and am passionate about using my education and resources to help alleviate some of these pain points in your everyday lives. If anyone would be willing to connect or simply comment on this post, I would love to learn any insights from patients, family members and friends about the experience of using an VAD and any areas, from your point of view, that could potentially be improved upon to make this experience better. 

Regardless, thank you for reading! If you have any questions or comments,
feel free to email me: fainsl@mail.uc.edu

Thank you! 

Profile picture for user Wildflower
Lisa J.

Hi Sophie,

i definitely encourage you to help improve the lifestyle with an lvad!  Thank you for the effort. 

First and foremost a cord coming out of you abdomen is not practical when trying to be active.  Sweating is an issue during work outs and hot days. My bandage does not stay put.  Just waiting to get an infection  

I hate carrying the batteries around.  I can carry small computer (aka my phone) that weighs nothing and for my lvad I have to carry batteries that are as heavy as a watermelon.  

I am 52 and female. The clothing made is not for women. I have a small frame compared to males and the vest and shirts don’t work. Currently I am designing undergarments so I don’t have to carry a backpack all the time. It is horrible on my back.  I also grieve for all my clothes  I can’t wear. 

It also bums me out I can’t swim, ski or kayak.   I also love  to cook but my back limits the amount of standing time because of the batteries.  

My mom has to remind me my batteries are better than a casket and I agree